SAMS / Texas A&M Collaboration

Riding in on the back of the Global Marine Sustainability Summit in September 2016, key collaborative themes have been forged between SAMS and Texas A&M Corpus Christi.

The summit welcomed over 100 research leaders, high level opinion formers and policy makers from each of the sectors>>.  The aims were to drive research-based solutions, develop marine technology for commercialisation, and educate a strong workforce to support marine and coastal sustainability.

 Working groups are developing research partnerships within the following topic areas. Please contact identified leads for further information and follow developments on the respective web pages, SAMS, UHI and Texas A&M Corpus Christi.

For Academic Institutions, US Federal Agencies and Research Centre of Excellence that  participated follow this link>> 


Collaborative Working Groups

Marine Ecosystem Science, Management and Policy

Adaptive Substrate

POC: David Yoskowitz, HRI at TAMU-CC  david.yoskowitz@tamucc.edu

POC: Raeanne Miller, SAMS, raeanne.miller@sams.ac.uk

Team is finalizing draft of white paper regarding decommissioning of oil and gas structures to be utilized as substrate in the North Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico

  • Recommended Action: Seek funding for scoping meeting anticipated for Fall 2017. Meeting will include a core team that will lead efforts to garner interest among institutions, industry and government agencies.

Micro/macro plastics in marine environments

POC: Bhavani Narayanaswamy , SAMS bhavani.narayanaswamy@sams.ac.uk

POC: Jeremy Conkle, TAMUCC jeremy.conkle@tamucc.edu

POC: Darek Bogucki, TAMUCC darek.bogucki@tamucc.edu

Detection of micro/macro plastics at sea using small handheld infrared cameras that can be retrofitted for use on a UAS and UUV.

  • Recommended Action: Luis Cifuentes and Frank Pezold to contact appropriate TAMUCC faculty to support SAMS’ PhD students on remote sensing projects using unmanned systems for detection of plastics in marine environments.

Wind energy

Offshore wind technologies

POC: Arlene Ditchfield, SAMS arlene.ditchfield@sams.ac.uk

POC: Richard Coffin, TAMUCC richard.coffin@tamucc.edu

Use wind power to oxygenate hypoxic marine environments

  • Recommended Action: Coffin and Ditchfield plan to meet over the next few weeks to move concept forward.

UAS for wind farm modeling

POC: Phil Anderson, SAMS philip.anderson@sams.ac.uk

POC: Jerry Hendrix, TAMUCC jerry.hendrix@tamucc.edu

Utilize UAS to validate numerical models for online wind renewable energy arrays

  • Recommended Action: Luis Cifuentes to contact Jerry Hendrix regarding potential SAMS and LSUASC collaboration on utilizing small UAS for measuring/servicing wind farms both on- and offshore.

Oil and Gas collaborations

POC: Angus Jamison, UHI angus.jamison@uhi.ac.uk

  • Recommended Action: Ian Thorburn and Luis Cifuentes to coordinate appropriate faculty at Texas A&M University at Galveston to develop collaborative programs.

Aquaculture

Algal turf scrubber (ATS) for remediation

POC: Joe Fox, TAMUCC joe.fox@tamucc.edu

POC: Michele Stanley, SAMS michele.stanley@sams.ac.uk

Use ATS technologies for biomass production.

  • Recommended Action: Fox and Stanley to determine funding sources for collaborative efforts.

Erasmus Mundus

POC: Joe Fox, TAMUCC joe.fox@tamucc.edu

POC: Michele Stanley, SAMS michele.stanley@sams.ac.uk

Letter of support for program renewal submitted.

  • Recommended Action: Awaiting response from sponsor.

 

Autonomous systems

UAS for wind farm modeling

POC: Phil Anderson, SAMS philip.anderson@sams.ac.uk

POC: Jerry Hendrix, TAMUCC jerry.hendrix@tamucc.edu

Utilize UAS to validate numerical models for online wind renewable energy arrays

  • Recommended Action: Luis Cifuentes to contact Jerry Hendrix regarding potential SAMS and LSUASC collaboration on utilizing small UAS for measuring/servicing wind farms both on- and offshore.

GoMRI X-Stream proposal,

POC: PI Steve DiMarco, TAMU sdimarco@email.tamu.edu

POC: Stuart Cunningham, SAMS stuart.cunningham@sams.ac.uk

POC: Anuschka Miller, SAMS anuschka.miller@sams.ac.uk

POC: Lauren Cifuentes, TAMUCC lauren.cifuentes@tamucc.edu

POC: Mark Inall, SAMS mark.inall@sams.ac.uk

Underwater gliders collecting data along the Gulf Stream between the Gulf of Mexico and North Atlantic. Strong K-12 outreach and education program supported by Esri.

  • Recommended Action: Submitted. Anticipated notification ~September 2017.

Academic and education synthesis

Student exchange

POC: Bhavani Narayanaswamy, SAMS bhavani.narayanaswamy@sams.ac.uk

POC: Simon Geist, TAMUCC simon.geist@tamucc.edu

Establish MOU for student exchange program between SAMS and TAMUCC.

  • Recommended Action: Narayanaswamy and Geist working details on course transferability and credits for upper level undergraduate student exchange.

Knowledge Exchange Fellowship

POC: Sally Rouse, SAMS sally.rouse@sams.ac.uk

SAMS is applying for a Knowledge Exchange Fellowship. Considering adding TAMU System institutions to collaboration to facilitate expansion of knowledge within multidisciplinary domains (research, job and wealth creation)

  • Recommended Action: Narayanaswamy to keep team apprised of next steps.

Competency-based online engineering program

POC: Lauren Cifuentes, TAMUCC lauren.cifuentes@tamucc.edu

NSF CREST proposal

POC: PI LD Chen, TAMUCC ld.chen@tamucc.edu

POC: Bhavani Narayanaswamy, SAMS bhavani.narayanaswamy@sams.ac.uk

Measuring/monitoring the resiliency of coastal and marine environments using unmanned smart sensor technologies. SAMS/UHI are participating as doctoral committee members and hosting doctoral students for 4-week research abroad experiences.

  • Recommended Action: Submitted. Anticipated notification ~August 2017.

 

 

 

Conferences of Interest

Marine Summit